Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Solid Waste Advisory Council/Local Task Force

The Solid Waste Advisory Council was established by the Riverside County Board of Supervisors in 1981. In 1989, the California Integrated Waste Management Act of 1989 (AB 939, et seq.) passed, which established mandated solid waste diversion and recycling requirements. With that, the role of the Solid Waste Advisory Council, was expanded to include the AB 939, State-mandated duties of a Local Task Force, forming the Riverside County Solid Waste Advisory Council/Local Task Force (SWAC/LTF).

With this added function, the responsibilities of the SWAC/LTF were increased to include not only making findings and providing advisory recommendations to the County’s Planning Commission and Board on all substantive waste management issues and solid waste facility land use matters, but also to assist the County and its cities in meeting AB 939 requirements, from the preparation and revision of the Countywide Integrated Waste Management Plan (CIWMP) to reviewing and commenting on solid waste facilities and their expansions for consistency with the CIWMP and recycling goals to the California Integrated Waste Management Board.

Meetings of the SWAC/LTF are held as needed, generally on the third Thursday of the month, and require a quorum of 11 members, when acting in the capacity of a LTF under AB 939, or a majority of the membership, not counting any vacant positions at the time of the meeting, when acting in the capacity of a SWAC.

The Riverside County SWAC/LTF provides members with the unique opportunity to assist the County and its cities in complying with AB 939 mandates, to plan for adequate waste disposal capacity and facilities, to evaluate waste disposal alternatives and technologies, and to influence the direction of waste management practices and legislation.

Agendas and Minutes

The LTF meets at the Riverside County Department of Waste Resources Headquarters located at 14310 Frederick Street, Moreno Valley, CA 92553. Meetings are held the third Thursday of every other month, as needed.  Contact Misty Randall at (951) 486-3386 for details and scheduling.

Below, you will find LTF Agendas and Agenda Minutes.

DISCLAIMER: Documents associated with agenda items may not include all related or updated data. Continued items and emergency items may have updates that are not shown with this agenda. You may contact Misty Randall at (951) 486-3386 or visit the office at 14310 Frederick Street, Moreno Valley, CA 92553 to view and/or obtain these updates.

Calendar Year
Agenda Packet

Minutes of previous LTF meetings are provided in the agenda packet of the next scheduled meeting.

Action Items

Calendar Year


Action Items


May 21, 2015

AB 45- Curbside HHW Collection- Oppose Unless Amended

March 19, 2015

Pest/Disease Transmission and Environmental Impacts from Land Application of Uncomposted Material

February 19, 2015

Election of Officers for 2015

Approval of Formal Letterhead


September 18, 2014

Adopt Organics Best Management Practices/Conditions of Approval and Financial Assurance

February 20, 2014

Establish a Compost Subcommittee


April 18, 2013

No action items


Membership is comprised of the following:

  1.  Six persons appointed by the Board of Supervisors
  • One member of the Board (shall serve as president of Council, but shall have no vote)

  • One person from each Supervisorial District

  1.  One person appointed by City Council of each City whose population is certified to exceed 100,000 at time of appointment
  • City of Riverside

  • City of Moreno Valley

  • City of Corona

  • City of Temecula

  • City of Murrieta

  • City of Jurupa Valley

  • City of Menifee

  1.  Two persons appointed by Coachella Valley Association of Governments
  2.  Two persons appointed by Western Riverside Association of Governments
  3.  One person appointed by the Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries
  4.  One person of environmental community (nominated by the Chairman of the Board, and approved by a majority of the Board of Supervisors)
  5.  Two persons who are industry representatives shall be appointed by Board of Directors of County Economic Development Agency (now the Office of Economic Development-RCOED)
  6.  Three persons appointed by San Bernardino Riverside Counties Disposal Association (IEDA)
  • Two refuse haulers

  • One liquid waste hauler

  1.  Two persons who are agricultural representatives, appointed by the Riverside County Farm Bureau
  2.  One person appointed by the Riverside Chapter of California Council of Civil Engineers and Land Surveyors